How Many Regions Are There In Italy

How Many Regions Are There In Italy?

20 regions

Are there 22 regions in Italy?

The regions of Italy (Italian: regioni d’Italia) are the first-level constituent entities of the Italian Republic constituting its second NUTS administrative level. There are 20 regions of which five have greater autonomy than the other fifteen.

What are 10 of the 20 regions of Italy?


How is Italy divided into regions?

The regions are divided into provinces 110 in all varying dramatically in size. These provinces are divided into comunes of which there are 8 100.

What are the 7 tourist regions in Italy?

  • North-West: Aosta Valley Liguria Lombardy Piedmont. The largest city is Milan.
  • North-East: Emilia-Romagna Friuli-Venezia Giulia Trentino-South Tyrol Veneto. …
  • Centre: Lazio Marche Tuscany Umbria. …
  • South: Abruzzo Apulia Basilicata Calabria Campania Molise. …
  • Islands: Sardinia Sicily.

See also how to build flood barriers civ 6

Does Italy have 21 regions?

Italy is subdivided into 20 regions (regioni singular regione) of which five enjoy a special autonomous status marked by an asterix *.

How many provinces are there in Italy?

Italy has 20 regions which are then divided into 110 provinces.

What are the 20 regions of Italy in Italian?

Italy it organized in 20 regioni Italian administrative regions.

The 20 regions of Italy.
Name of the Region Main city Most visited localities
Campania Naples Amalfi Coast Sorrento Capri Pompeii Mount Vesuvius
Molise Campobasso Termoli
Puglia/Apulia Bari Alberobello Bari Lecce
Basilicata Matera Matera

How many regions are there?

A common way of referring to regions in the United States is grouping them into 5 regions according to their geographic position on the continent: the Northeast Southwest West Southeast and Midwest.

When was Italy divided into regions?

January 1 1948

Italy introduced regions into its jurisdiction with the Constitution that entered into force on January 1 1948 which in articles 114 and 115 stated: “The Republic is divided into Regions Provinces and Comuni.”

What is the biggest region in Italy?


In 2017 the largest among the 20 administrative regions of Italy was Sicily which at same time was also the biggest island in the country.

Total area of Italy in 2017 by region (in square kilometers)
Characteristic Area in square kilometers
Sicily 25 832
Piedmont 25 387
Sardinia 24 100
Lombardy 23 864

What region does Italy belong to?

Italy country of south-central Europe occupying a peninsula that juts deep into the Mediterranean Sea.

What is the capital of Italy?


What is the most famous region in Italy?


Tuscany. Quite possibly Italy’s most famous region Tuscany offers a little bit of everything – from small farm towns to big cities from seaside coasts to rolling hills.

How many Italian regions are islands?

20 different regions

Italy is divided into 20 different regions including the islands of Sicily and Sardinia in the Mediterranean Sea which are each a separate region. Each region has its own unique culture customs and cuisine so you’ll find a lot of differences between regions in the north and those in the south.

See also what pattern of organization describes a shift in time?

What is the nicest region in Italy?

Piedmont has officially been voted the most beautiful region in the world. This is according to Lonely Planet’s ‘Best in Travel 2019’ guide which presents its ranking of the best tourist resorts in the world to visit in the new year.

Is Turin a Lombardy?

Milan (Lombardy) came second in this ranking while Naples (Campania) and Turin (Piedmont) followed.

How many municipalities are there in Italy?

7 914 municipalities

In 2020 Italy counted 7 914 municipalities.

Number of municipalities in Italy from 2011 to 2020.
Characteristic Number of municipalities
2020 7 914
2019 7 914
2018 7 954
2017 7 978

What regions form the central part of Italy?

Central Italy encompasses four of the country’s 20 regions:
  • Lazio.
  • Marche.
  • Tuscany.
  • Umbria.

Does Italy have counties?

There are currently 107 institutional bodies of second level in Italy including 80 ordinary provinces 2 autonomous provinces 4 regional decentralization entities 6 free municipal consortia and 14 metropolitan cities as well as the Aosta Valley region (which also exercises the powers of a province).

What is the poorest region of Italy?

Indeed the eight regions which recorded the highest percentages were either Islands or Sothern regions whereas the northern regions had the lowest rates.

Share of the population at risk of poverty in Italy in 2019 by region.
Characteristic Share of population
Campania 41.2%
Calabria 30.9%
Apulia 30.4%
Basilicata 27.1%

What region is Florence?

Florence Italian Firenze Latin Florentia city capital of Firenze provincia (province) and Toscana (Tuscany) regione (region) central Italy. The city located about 145 miles (230 km) northwest of Rome is surrounded by gently rolling hills that are covered with villas and farms vineyards and orchards.

What is Northern Italy called?

The northern region of Italy is known locally as Il Nord or Settentrione and consists of eight separate regions – Peidmont Liguria Aosta Valley Veneto Emilia-Romagna Lombardy Friuli-Venezia Giulia and Trentino-Alto.

Is Sicily a country in Italy?

The region has 5 million inhabitants. Its capital city is Palermo. Sicily is in the central Mediterranean Sea south of the Italian Peninsula from which it is separated by the narrow Strait of Messina.

Sicily Sicilia (Italian) Sicilia (Sicilian)
Flag Coat of arms
Anthem: Madreterra
Country Italy
Capital Palermo

What is the capital city of Abruzzo?


What are the 6 WHO regions?

List of WHO regions
  • African Region (AFR)
  • Region of the Americas (AMR)
  • South-East Asian Region (SEAR)
  • European Region (EUR)
  • Eastern Mediterranean Region (EMR)
  • Western Pacific Region (WPR)
  • References.

See also how to accidentally text someone on purpose

What are the 3 different types of regions?

Three types of regions are formal vernacular and functional.

What are the 4 regions?

The US Census Bureau for example considers there to be four regions of the US: the Northeast the Midwest the South and the West.

What is the main religion in Italy?

Roman Catholic

Italy is officially a secular state. However its religious and social landscape is deeply influenced by the Roman Catholic tradition. Indeed the epicentre and government of the Catholic Church (the Vatican) and its leader (the Pope) are located in Rome.

Which region is Naples in?


Campania is the only region of southern Italy with a major concentration of industry most of it centred on Naples the regional capital and some around Salerno.

Which region is Venice in?

Thanks to Venice – capital city of the region – it is the first in Italy and among the first destinations in Europe in number of visitors: the reasons to visit the Veneto region are not limited to its extraordinary city on the water.

What is the wealthiest city in Italy?

Milan is wealthiest city in Italy with residents earning an average yearly income of €36 252 followed by Rome with €30 543 according to figures from the Ministry of Economy.Nov 14 2013

What is the language of Italy?


What was Italy called before Italy?

Peninsula Italia

Whilst the lower peninsula of what is now known as Italy was known is the Peninsula Italia as long ago as the first Romans (people from the City of Rome) as long about as 1 000 BCE the name only referred to the land mass not the people.

How Did The Regions Of Italy Get Their Names?

Learn Regions and Capitals of Italy – Country Map of Italy – Geography for Students

Learn the Regions of Italy (GAME!)

Italy Geography/Country of Italy

Leave a Comment